Galaxy of Spiz

Where words can change the world

Archive for the ‘CD Review’ Category

New Album Releases

leave a comment »

Keep a look out for these new albums, sure to be a good listen:

1. Saves the Day – Daybreak – 2009 – The third Saves the Day album in the trilogy Chris Conley put together. It’s sure to please new and old Saves the Day fans.

2. Muse – TBA – 2009/2010 – This fifth Muse album is sure to not disappoint if it sticks to Black Holes and Revelations and Absolution material.

3. Brand New – TBA – Summer 2009 – Jesse Lacey and his thugs are back from The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me. Their music seems to be getting better and better as the years go by. Let’s hope this trend continues.

4. Moneen – TBA – 2009 – After The Red Tree, these Canadian Indie-Rockers are back with vengence. Though their drummer has parted ways, the sound of Moneen will continue to live on.

5. U2 – No Line on the Horizon – February 27, 2009 – These Irish rockers from the 80’s are back after How to Dismantle An Atomic Bomb, but this time, they’re bringing a different sound than its predecessor.

Albums Recently Released:

1. Two Tongues – Two Tongues – February 3, 2009 – Max Bemis of Say Anything and Chris Conley of Saves the Day team up to bring you one of the most rocking albums to hit 2009 thus far. The voices of Chris and Max clash together so well that it seems like they were destined to work together. If you like Saves the Day or Say Anything then you’re sure to love this debut album from this new band.

2. Thursday – Common Existence – February 17, 2009 – The post-hardcore rockers from New Jersey are back and ready to rock since A City By the Light Divided. They are featured in the February AP magazine and are ready to prove once again why they are the best post-hardcore band today.

With that said, I will be writing another album review on my top ten. So look for that sunday night and thanks for reading. I hope everyone checks out all of this new music and keep it tuned here because who knows, I might write something new tomorrow…we’ll just have to see. Cheers!


Written by spizthekid

February 23, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Posted in CD Review

Top Ten Album Reviews…Starting with Number Ten!

leave a comment »

10.  The Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots

This futuristic album which leaves the ears stunned beyond belief is nothing short of perfection. Every song flows with such precision and coolness that is almost sounds like one long epic song. The climax of the album, “Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots Pt. 2” shows that words are not always needed to get a point across. This song also shows just how talented these musicians are and how simple screams can be to show an epic battle between a human and a disease. “Do You Realize??” makes one think about life and how life comes and goes within the blink of an eye. Lyrically this song draws you in with the questiong Wayne Coyne askes within the tune. Musically this song draws you in with the acoustic guitar and upbeat drum beat alongside the keyboards. The final song to this album, “Approaching Pavonis Mons By Balloon” feels exactly what it sounds like. The feel of this song makes you feel like you are traveling to the famous mountain atop of Mars with the eerie trumpet and the grooving drum beat. This instrumental masterpiece is the perfect way to end an album with such prowess that it makes you feel as if you accomplished something just by listening to its wonder and magic. This album will surely surpass every expectation you have of a fantastic album and I highly recommend it to anyone who is up for the challenge. The challenge of listening to something so incredible and magical, you can’t help but smile when everything’s all said and done.

Track Listing:

01. Fight Test
02. One More Robot / Sympathy 3000-21
03. Yoshimi Battle The Pink Robots, Pt. 1
04. Yoshimi Battle The Pink Robots, Pt. 2
05. In The Morning Of The Magicians
06. Ego Tripping At The Gates Of Hell
07. Are You A Hypnotist??
08. It’s Summertime (Throbbing Orange Palbearers)
09. Do You Realize??
10. All We Have Is Now
11. Approaching Pavonis Mons By Balloon

Incredible album

Incredible album

This is the first of many album reviews I will be writing in the weeks to come. Please give any feedback, whether positive or negative. I look forward to hearing from you. If you would like me to review an album you love, let me know and I will make sure it gets done. Thank you for reading.

Written by spizthekid

February 22, 2009 at 3:38 am

Posted in CD Review

New Start

leave a comment »

Hello, people in the blog world, because of the new year, I thought I’d have a new start on the blog. I will be doing a weekly CD review every sunday night, new and old. I hope to keep up with this and I hope you guys enjoy it. Feel free to give me feedback and let me know how I am progressing in the CD review area. Look for a new review tonight before midnight. Thanks for your time.

Written by spizthekid

January 25, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Posted in CD Review