Galaxy of Spiz

Where words can change the world

A Surreal Adventure Part I

with 3 comments

December 10, 2005…a day I will remember for years to come for this was the first time I saw U2 in concert…and one for the books. I would not be giving this adventure the credit it’s due with a few lines, so excuse me if this gets a little long, I’ll make sure it’s interesting enough. The day started like every other, I woke up to the kind of alarm clock that makes you want to throw it against the wall, but luckily, I was able to hold on to this temptation and not fall victim to the alarm clock boogey, as I like to call it. After a very enjoyable breakfast, which consisted of the usual Life cereal and banana, I got ready for the big day. Not only was I going to the concert, but I had band practice hours previous to the departure for the said concert. A few good friends of mine, Everett Lasher, Jason Hipwell and Andrew Zimmerman ventured to my humble home and we tuned up the guitars and drums and jammed. We attempted to reproduce a U2 song in light of the concert, but alas, we were young and naive and realized most of their songs consist of only one guitar, while we had two. After playing our own songs and working on some new stuff, we got some snacks and were on our way.

My brother, Jamisen, drove us four to the magical city of Cleveland. But first, we had to make a pit stop to McKean to grab some money. What we thought  would be an easy task, ended up being a little bit of a panic attack because we lost the car keys for a few minutes. After the misplaced car keys were found, by Andrew Zimmerman if I recall, we drove onto I-79 to I-90 which would take us straight to Cleveland. On the way, Everett had the idea of playing one of those crazy alphabet car games, where you pick a theme, say for example, movies…and for each letter of the alphabet, you come up with a movie that starts with that letter. This game would entertain us all the way to Cleveland…or as I like to call, Crazy Cleveland (like the alliteration?).

Ah, Cleveland…the city where heroes are born and dreams come true and yadda yadda yadda. It took us quite some time to find a parking place, but we had plenty of time to kill. After driving past the Gund Arena multiple times, where U2 would be playing, we finally found a parking garage that would fit a red expedition. We parked the car, locked it up and we went on our way. The distance from the parking garage to the Gund was not far, but due to the excitement levels I maxed out on, it seemed like a mile away. I felt like Marty McFly when he first traveled into the future. There it was…glowing like a firefly in the mid-winter night, the Gund Arena.

And that’s where I will leave you for now, stay tuned in the days to come to find out what happens at this incredible concert…and if it was, in fact, a great concert. Cheers!

Written by spizthekid

February 24, 2009 at 3:02 am

Posted in Concerts

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s spelled cereal. not ceral.

    Frank

    February 24, 2009 at 11:10 pm

  2. This sucks without part II.

    jasonrhorne

    April 8, 2009 at 10:41 am

  3. good times

    E Lash

    April 8, 2009 at 11:52 pm


Leave a Reply

